An Ode to the Peach Lip

ImageImage

Some like reds, others like pinks but nothing is better than a peach lip. They are somewhere in between a nude and pink so if you are not brave enough to wear a pink lip but still want a little je ne sais quoi, peach lips are perfect.

The newest addition to my peach lip stash is the YSL glossy stain in number 27. In the tube and when swatched, this product appears like a more pale, milky  peach than what it actually is on the lips. At first this aspect was disappointing to me but after a while it has definitely become one of my favourites! On the lips this product is more of an apricot colour which I find to be really feminine and a little more mature than a more nude lip (even though I do love my nudes too) ‘. Also the formula of these glossy stains really is something special! After two or three coats you are left with a really gorgeous shiny colour which actually lasts, even after eating and drinking! Next on the list is Topshop’s Whimsical; cheap, cheerful, lovely colour, what’s not to like! This light coral/peach lipstick will brighten any daytime make-up look and I love pairing this lipstick with a shimmery gold eye and a peachy/coral cheek. The only thing I find with this lipstick is that you need to have prepped your lips before using it otherwise is does not apply that smoothly but other than that you can’t really go wrong for £8.

Last but by no means least is the Creme Smooth Lip Colour by Laura Mercier in Brigitte which may be my favourite of the bunch. This lipstick is what I wanted MAC Shy Girl lipstick to be, its the perfect nude, peach with no beige or brown undertone to it which was the reason I did not get on with Shy Girl. It looks great with a tan and really compliments a deep bronze smokey eye. The formula of this lipstick is so creamy, it is similar to the cremesheen finish of MAC lipsticks but does not offer as much of a shine. I have my eye on these lipstick formulas and would definitely pick up some more colours!

ImageImage

The swatches shown are from left to right: Laura Mercier Lipstick in Brigitte, Topshop Lipstick in Whimsical, YSL Glossy Stain in No.27.

Do you like peach lips as much as I do? If so what are your favourites? My notepad is at the ready…

Alice.

3 thoughts on “An Ode to the Peach Lip

Leave a Reply

