Recent ‘The Balm’ Buys

Image

The Balm is a brand that I had never tried anything from before, but when I was constantly hearing various people raving about their products, I thought it was about time that I purchased something from them. The products that caught my attention the most were the Bahama Mama Bronzer and the Mary-Lou Manizer Highlighter and I definitely think that I made the right choice! I know the packaging shouldn’t be a valid reason for buying something, but who could say no to these?!

Image

 

I was most excited to get my mitts on the highlighter because I wanted a really lovely champagne shine to my cheek bones for the festive season and from what I was hearing about this product, this was exactly what I was after! I typically only wear powder highlighters in the evening and during the winter because the lack of sun makes a powder highlighter not so obvious on the skin, so even though I do enjoy my MAC Mineralize Skin Finish in Soft and Gentle, I do sometimes find that it can be a bit too chunky and powdery looking so this one really fits the bill because it does not drop down on the rest of my face when applied. I found myself looking in the mirror admiring my glow the first day I wore the Mary Lou-Manizer and am very pleased with my purchase!

I was in the market for a new bronzer because when I hit pan on my favourite Nars Laguna Bronzer I decided I needed a back up! When I read reviews on the Bahama Mama Bronzer before purchasing, I saw that lots of people with fair skin commented saying what a good colour it was for bronzing and/or contouring their face so I immediately added it to my shopping basket! When I opened up this product when it was delivered, I was shocked at how dark it looked in the pan, but when applied with a very light hand it adds a really nice warmth and colour to my fair complexion! I like to tap of the excess and tap the brush on the back of my hand before application just to make sure I build up the colour gradually instead of going straight in with too much of an intense colour.

Overall I am very pleased with what I got from The Balm and these two products have marked a firm place in my makeup bag! I would definitely consider buying more from The Balm so any recommendations would be warmly welcomed!

Have you tried these? What are your favourite products from The Balm?

Alice

8 thoughts on “Recent ‘The Balm’ Buys

  1. Great packaging isn’t a bad basis for a purchase! I’m sure you’ve already experienced the inefficiencies that come from poor packaging. Anyways, thebalm is my FAVORITE brand, if you ever find a sale going on on their palettes, don’t hesitate! The eye shadows are so buttery & smooth and superbly pigmented! I love the Shady Lady palettes & the Nudetude palette (runs a bit more pink than the UD Naked palettes – with the exception of upcoming Naked3). The blushes have the same textures, pigmented and so pretty. I also purchased the timebalm foundation & concealer, hated it & threw it away. I wasn’t a big fan of the lip/cheek stain either. They’re on Hautelook quite a bit.

Leave a Reply

