Get the Glow!

Image

 I don’t know about you, but I love nothing more than glowing and glistening cheekbones, especially during the Christmas season! I obviously don’t like matching the Christmas decorations that cover the place with glitter, but there is just something festive about wearing a good highlighter! For me, I prefer wearing powder highlighters during the winter because sometimes they can look too harsh in strong summer sunlight where I prefer sticking with more cream based products. However, I have selected two creams and two powders so there is something to suit everyone!


Starting with powder products, how could I not include the MAC Mineralize Skin Finish in Soft and Gentle! Even though it is a classic highlighter, there are very mixed opinions about it. Many people do not like this product because it can come across a little chunky at times, for this reason, I save it for this time of year because it would be a shame to not use it at all! In order to avoid looking too chalky, I lightly apply this with my ring finger because it lessens the chance of drop down and applies a lot smoother than with a brush. This product also looks lovely doubled as an eyeshadow and an inner corner highlight! The other powder highlighter that I want to mention is another talked about product but something that is a relatively new addition into my collection: The Mary-Lou Manizer from The Balm. If you are looking for some serious glow, this is the product for you! The texture of this compared to Soft and Gentle is so buttery and smooth and even though I find it to be more iridescent, it does not have chunks of glitter in it. Colour wise, this product is more of a golden/champagne as opposed to Soft and Gentle which is more of a pink/champagne. Both photograph beautifully, love them both.

On to the creams, first on the list is the Nars Multiple in Copacabana, I won’t go into too much detail about this because I have a review on it here, but what I will say is that this product gives a beautiful ‘glowing from within’ look and just makes your skin look healthy and radiant! My final product is the MAC Cream Colour Base in Hush, this product carries a special place in my heart because it was my first highlighting product so I will always love it. Nevertheless, it is a beautiful product that when dabbed onto the cheekbones, delivers an amazing sheen! I love this colour in particular because it is a bit peachy so it adds some warmth to the face too. I have also tried Pearl which is another really nice colour for someone with really fair skin!

I thought I would also mention my favourite brush to apply these powder products with is the Real Techniques duo fibre contour brush because I find that it does not pick up too much product and it also reduces the risk of product dropping down on your face. 

Have you tried these products? What are your ‘must-have’ highlighters?

Alice.

4 thoughts on “Get the Glow!

Leave a Reply

