My Top Winter Foundations

Image

This year has been the year where I have been foundation crazy, I can’t get enough of looking at them, swatching them, researching them and buying them! But through this foundation madness, I have found three products that I constantly find myself reaching for this winter. My skin is more on the dry side in winter time but combination the rest of year, with my problem patches of dryness being around my nose, above and in between my eyebrows (nice) but nothing some good skincare can’t take care of. Anyway, sometimes certain foundations cling to those patches and just overall make my complexion look dull, but these three gems really give me some radiance and glide right over the dryness without causing any flaky problems.

The Bobbi Brown Skin Foundation is possibly my favourite from the bunch for everyday wear because it has the most lovely light texture but is slightly buildable without looking like you are wearing a lot of makeup. Almost every time I wear this foundation, my Mum compliments my skin, which is a big deal considering she sees me all the time, so when she notices something different like the way my skin looks, I know it is a good foundation. Another reason this is one of my favourites for winter time is because the shade range goes really light, as goes for all Bobbi Brown foundations, which is perfect for my fair complexion at this time of year. My favourite way to apply this product is by using the Real Techniques Buffing Brush, I dot the foundation onto my skin first then go in with the brush because I find that the brush drinks up the product otherwise because of it’s liquid texture. For me, it provides the most flawless finish that looks so natural with a alight healthy glow. 

Next is one that I have mentioned a fair few times, the Urban Decay Naked Skin Foundation. This is my current favourite foundation to wear when I know that there will be pictures taken because it has no SPF and photographs beautifully. This product claims to have a weightless texture and I agree that it does have a very light texture but I would say that the Bobbi Brown Skin Foundation is slightly more natural looking but they both provide a healthy glow without looking greasy or shiny. This foundation does not cling to dry patches at all so when I have one of those dry spots that just looks worse when you try and cover it up, I always turn to this foundation because it glides straight over with no fuss! My favourite brush to use with this is the Real Techniques Expert Face Brush because it gives just that extra bit of coverage and lets you build a bit more with it which is exactly what I go for for an evening out, but at the same time it does not look heavy. 

Last but not least is the YSL Le Teint Touche Éclat Foundation, this is my most recent of the bunch but I have very much enjoyed using it so far. The way I initially applied this foundation was with the Real Techniques Buffing Brush because it is just a habit, but something was not right and I couldn’t put my finger on it. So, I tried various ways of applying and my favourite is definitely with my fingers, it blends so much more nicely because you can really massage it into your face and that is exactly what you need to do with this foundation to make it look as natural as possible. I just love the way that this product hugs my facial features and it just catches the light in all of the right places. When I wake up and my skin is feeling not itself, I know I can rely on this to give my the boost I need! This is a medium coverage foundation but I wouldn’t like to layer it up too much because it would just lose that lovely natural looking finish. In terms of the glow factor, I would have to say that it isn’t as ‘dewy’ as the other two foundations but it still illuminates the face just beautifully!

Have you tried these foundations? What is your favourite foundation to use in the winter? 

12 thoughts on “My Top Winter Foundations

  1. I haven’t gotten to try any of these yet, but I haven’t heard a single bad thing about the YSL. It will probably be one of my next foundation purchases.

    -Katie
    smoulderingviolet.wordpress.com

  2. I wanted to try Urban Decay naked, but they didn’t offer samples. The girl did offer to colour match me, but I didn’t trust her as her foundation was far far too pale for her. Lovely post though and if it photographs well, I definitely need to try it. xx

  3. Fab review! Definitely fancy a look art the Bobbi Brown one! Out of curiosity have your tried the NARS Sheer Glory or the Estée Lauder Double Wear? Would be interested to see how these compare! 🙂 xox

    • I really recommend the Bobbi Brown one it is really lovely! No I haven’t but I have been eyeing up the Nars Sheer Glow for a while and think I might get that next year! I have never fancied double wear because I think it would just be too much for my skin xx

Leave a Reply

