Classic Smoky Eye Look

Image

You can never go wrong with a classic smoky eye. I caught myself, yet again, reaching for the same colours that I usually use and then thought to myself, ‘Alice, put down the bronze eyeshadow!’ I am so glad I took my own advice because I really enjoyed playing around with the smoky greys and blacks and wanted to take you through the look that I came up and the products that I used:

Image

1. I first primed my eyelids with the Bare Minerals Prime Time Eyelid Primer because it is an excellent base for eyeshadows, both creams and powders, and makes them stick around all day long though rain, wind or shine.

2. Then I went in with my Topshop Eye Crayon in Mystical because I thought this grey/taupe colour would work beautifully underneath the grey and black powders I was going to be using over the top. The reason I used a primer underneath this cream shadow was because I find that this formula creases on me without it but I wanted to use a cream as well to give the look some texture and enhance the colours.

3. I then went in with my crease colour; Naked by Urban Decay. The reason I like to do this first is because I can get the initial shape and guideline for when I use the stronger colours and it also helps as a transition colour when blending the darker shadows also.

4. On the inner third of my eyes, I used MAC eyeshadow in Scene which is a lovely matte, cool grey colour. Using this on the inner third creates a lifted look to the eye when putting black shadow in the outer corners and also gives a faded effect to the eyeshadow.

5. On the outer third of the eye I used MAC eyeshadow in Black Tied. I build this colour up gradually and blend as I go along because then there is less chance of making a mistake and it is easier to create that lifted ‘cat eye’ effect.

6. On the inner corners of my eye I used the Urban Decay eyeshadow in Sin because it does not look as stark as something like Nylon by MAC and I feel like it ties in with the grey eyeshadow and the silver sparkles in Black Tied. I also took this colour underneath the lower lash line on the inner third of the eye, again to help with the lifted effect and to open up the eyes.

7. I smudged black liner and Black Tied underneath the lower lash line on the outer corners and also took this liner on the water line too. I used the same black Rimmel black eyeliner and smudged it along the upper lashline to make the lashes look fuller and thicker.

8. Lastly I used my favourite mascara, YSL Singulier, on the top lashes and a little on the outer bottom lashes.

Image

Do you like sporting the classic smoky eye too? 

Alice.

Leave a Reply

