Spring Makeup Must-Haves

Image

The turn of a new season brings the time for a makeup bag update, an activity I very much enjoy! I think that when Spring rolls around the corner, we should embrace a more fresh faced look and also play around with a hint of colour. As the weather has been warming up, there are a few products that I have been reaching for more often to get into that Spring time mood.


Using a lighter base is something that I always like to do in the Spring time so that your skin can breath the Spring time air after being cooped up in the company of the central heating during the Winter months. I always find myself going back the the Origins Vitazing SPF 15 Energy Boosting Moisturiser With Mangosteen (again, what is with these long names?!). I love this because it gives my skin an extra boost of healthy colour before my base of choice, or I even wear these alone on lazy days because I find that the hint of colour it gives tends to even out the skin tone slightly. This is my second tube of the stuff and I feel like a third will be in order soon! My next product of choice is the DiorSkin Nude BB Creme, I first laid my hands on this last Summer and oh, what a lovely Summer we had together. This provides quite good coverage but feels so light on the skin and gives it a really radiant an healthy appearance. I use this with my fingers for a more natural look, but I find it gives more coverage when used with a brush which is nice for Spring evenings when you are sitting outside with the gals and a cocktail.

Glowing skin however, cannot be complete without a little helping hand from an illuminating friend. Enter the Soap and Glory Hocus Focus Instant Visual Flaw-Softening Illuminator. I like to dab this on the tops of the cheekbones after I have applied my foundation to give my skin an added glow and it just looks simply lovely when it catches the sunlight and I just can’t be without it, especially for the Spring time! Keeping with the theme of cheek products, you just can’t go wrong with a good cream blush. One of my favourites just has to be the Max Factor Miracle Touch Creamy Blush in Soft Pink, a lovely creamy product that does not dry to a powder finish so it looks like second skin and gives the cheeks a healthy pink sheen, and it is cheap and cheerful! On a more expensive note, the Bobbi Brown Pot Rouges really are something special. The colour here is Hibiscus from the new Nectar and Nudes Collection (review here) and even though it looks scary in the pan, the coral colour it gives is just so lovely and you can build it up if you want something a bit more intense but the formula lasts a really long time and doesn’t feel at all drying on the skin.

Lip products has to be the best category because you really can play with some colour. A simple way to do this for the Spring time is with some sheer lipsticks or tinted balms. The Dior Lip Glow is a firm favourite in my makeup stash because it is just fool proof, you can make no mistakes with it. It gives such a pretty rosy look to the lips which just lifts the face and gives it a fresh looking appearance while keeping your lips nourished and hydrated through out the day. The Chanel Rouge Coco Shine in Rendez-Vous is literally my favourite thing at the moment, it is a sheer lipstick so it is perfect if you are afraid of wearing colour but you really can build with this product to a beautiful warm medium pink colour, plus I find this to hang around for quite sometime on the lips too! Both of these products are really easy to apply on the go and are welcomed additions to everyone’s makeup bag!

What are your favourite Spring makeup products?

Alice.

12 thoughts on “Spring Makeup Must-Haves

Leave a Reply

