Protect Your Coloured Hair

Image

I don’t know about you, but I have never been interested in haircare because out of everything to do with beauty it seems a bit, boring? I naturally have medium brown hair which has quite a flat colour so since I was about 16 I have dyed it at home with various different box dyes you can pick up from Boots to a darker brown. I always love how it looked straight after, but my hair has the tendency to fade really quickly and get a slight warm tinge after dying it. Since I have ditched the box dyes and been getting it done at the hairdressers, I have found a few products which have really helped my hair from fading and has kept my colour in tact for so much longer.

I am not all that fussy about what conditioner I use because at the end of the day, it is the shampoo that is to blame for stripping your hair of it’s colour. Since I have been using the Kérastase Reflection Bain Chroma Captive Shampoo, I have noticed such a difference because it has really maintained the colour of my hair while making it feel smooth and silky too. For conditioner I don’t really have a preference but I use the Kérastase Elixir Ultime for Colour-Treated Hair and mix it in with my conditioner because my hairdresser told me that by doing this, it acts as a colour treatment for your hair and I have to say I love doing this because the condition of my hair looks so much better and it really boosts the radiance of your locks. 

For the final step in my hair-care routine, the Bumble and Bumble Colour Minded UV Protection Styling Balm has really been working a treat, especially because here in Montpellier, the sun is shining and even though I love the sunshine, my hair does not! This has really been protecting my hair from fading from the suns rays and helps keep my style in place for longer too. I apply this through the lengths of towel dried hair and you only need a small dollop of the stuff so it really does last a long time! Since I have starting taking care of my hair with the right products, it has never looked better, hair advert worthy if I do say so myself!

What are your favourite products to protect your hair?

Alice

2 thoughts on “Protect Your Coloured Hair

  1. Yes it can be a little boring, but such a vital part… If my hair looks bad then I feel bad. My hair is like yours a medium brown rather flat colour and I have gone so many colours that I some times forget my own (until my roots start showing) mine tends to fade fast (which is why im no longer a redhead- way to much hassle) I started using loreal absolut repair which I like alot. Steph x

Leave a Reply

